Scholastic Canada | City of Ghosts
Skip to main content

City of Ghosts

By Victoria Schwab   

Scholastic Inc | ISBN 9781338111002 Hardcover
304 Pages | 5.79" x 8.54" | Ages 9 to 12

Scholastic Inc | ISBN 9781338111033 Ebook
272 Pages | Ages 9 to 12

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Victoria Schwab comes a sweeping, spooky, evocative adventure, perfect for fans of "Stranger Things" and Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children. City of Ghosts is a thrillingly spooky and action-packed tale of hauntings, history, mystery, and the bond between friends (even if that friend is a ghost . . .).

Ever since Cass almost drowned (okay, she did drown, but she doesn't like to think about it), she can pull back the Veil that separates the living from the dead . . . and enter the world of spirits. Her best friend is even a ghost.

So things are already pretty strange. But they're about to get much stranger.

When Cass's parents start hosting a TV show about the world's most haunted places, the family heads off to Edinburgh, Scotland. Here, graveyards, castles, and secret passageways teem with restless phantoms. And when Cass meets a girl who shares her "gift," she realizes how much she still has to learn about the Veil &mdash: and herself.

And she'll have to learn fast. The city of ghosts is more dangerous than she ever imagined.

Raves & reviews:

Praise for City of Ghosts  

* “This atmospheric ghost story from Schwab (the Monsters of Verity duology) chills and charms while challenging readers to face their fears.”– Publishers Weekly, starred review