Furious Thing | Scholastic Canada
Skip to main content

Furious Thing

By Jenny Downham   

Scholastic Inc. | ISBN 9781338540659 Hardcover
384 Pages | Ages 12 & Up

Scholastic Inc. | ISBN 9781338540673 Ebook
384 Pages | Ages 12 & Up

From the critically acclaimed author of Before I Die comes a remarkably affecting story of a girl who burns with anger for reasons she can't understand, and the power and risk that comes with making noise. Fans of E. Lockhart, Jennifer Niven, and Gayle Foreman will find their own fury in this exceptional novel for our times.

Lexi's angry. And it's getting worse.

If only she could stop losing her temper and behave herself, her stepfather would accept her, her mom would love her like she used to, and her stepbrother would declare his crushing desire to spend the rest of his life with her. She wants these things so badly, she's determined to swallow her anger and make her family proud.But pushing fury down doesn't make it disappear. Instead, it simmers below the surface waiting to erupt . . . And there'll be fireworks when it does.

From the bestselling and award-winning author of Before I Die, You Against Me, and Unbecoming comes a remarkably affecting story that explores the myriad of ways a girl's sense of self can be whittled away, and what might happen when she fights back.

Raves & reviews:

Praise for Furious Thing
Shortlisted for the Costa Book Awards
Named as one of the best books of 2019 by the Sunday Times, Financial Times and Irish Times.

"A painfully enthralling, fiercely feminist account of emotional abuse and appropriate rage." — The Guardian

"Piercingly well-observed." — Financial Times

"A wise, gripping and skilfully told story... It gives permission to rage when fury is warranted." — Sunday Times

"One of the best YAs I have EVER READ. Full of feminist righteousness, this is a book I wish I had read when I was 16." — The Bookseller

"The sort of YA that the industry should be aiming for." — Minerva Reads