Scholastic Canada - Deltora Quest

Deltora: A land of magic and monsters. Home

Deltora Quest

The Story Begins
On his sixteenth birthday, Lief, the son of a blacksmith, faces the greatest challenge of his life. He must venture into the darkest and most terrible places in all of Deltora to find the seven magical gems stolen from the Belt of Deltora. When reunited in the Belt, these gems—an amethyst, a topaz, a diamond, a ruby, an opal, a lapis lazuli, and an emerald—will empower the heir to the throne of Deltora and free the people from the evil tyranny of the Shadow Lord.

  • Book I:
    The Forests of Silence

    Reissue edition with a brand-new cover!

    Sixteen-year-old Lief learns his parents' deepest secret, and sets out to find the seven gems that will save his land.
    Read an excerpt.

  • Book II:
    The Lake of Tears

    Reissue edition with a brand-new cover!

    To find the second stone, the three heroes must travel through territory ruled by the monster-sorceress Thaegan.
    Read an excerpt.

  • Book III:
    City of the Rats

    Reissue edition with a brand-new cover!

    The power of the two recovered gems has strengthened Lief, Barda, and Jasmine, and given them the courage to continue their quest for the third stone.
    Read an excerpt.

  • Book IV:
    The Shifting Sands

    Reissue edition with a brand-new cover!

    Separation, confusion, and strange, terrible enemies await Lief, Barda, and Jasmine in the harsh landscape of the Shifting Sands.
    Read an excerpt.

  • Book V:
    Dread Mountain

    Four gems have been found. Now, though grave news reaches Lief from home, and he longs to return, the quest must continue.
    Read an excerpt.

  • Book VI:
    The Maze of the Beast

    Already exhausted, pursued by the servants of the Shadow Lord, the three companions will need all their strength and courage to face the Maze of the Beast.
    Read an excerpt.

  • Book VII:
    The Valley of the Lost

    The companions have faced many terrors with strength and courage. Now they are about to meet dark mysteries that strength and courage alone cannot defeat.
    Read an excerpt.

  • Book VIII:
    Return to Del

    Shock follows shock as the fury and power of the Shadow Lord himself threatens to destroy the three heroes and everything they love.
    Read an excerpt.

Dragons of Deltora

The evil Shadow Lord has been banished, but famine still stalks Deltora, and only monsters thrive. As the starving people weaken, Lief, Jasmine and Barda discover a terrible secret. The Enemy left the seeds of death behind him. Four vile creations of sorcery called the Four Sisters are hidden in the land. They are slowly killing it while the Shadow Lord gloats, awaiting his triumphant return. The companions must find the deadly Sisters and destroy them. Their only clue is a fragment of an ancient map. Their only hope of help lies with 7 unlikely allies - the last of Deltora's dragons.

  • Dragons of Deltora #1:
    Dragon's Nest

    Dragons, sorcery, and an ancient map lead the legendary trio of Lief, Jasmine, and Barda on another action-packed quest, in the latest adventure in Emily Rodda's remarkable Deltora world.
    Read an excerpt.

  • Dragons of Deltora #2:

    Sinister twists and exciting turns await Lief, Barda, and Jasmine as they head to the haunted mountains to continue their dragon-aided quest.
    Read an excerpt.

  • Dragons of Deltora #3:
    Isle of the Dead

    Lief, Barda, and Jasmine continue their daring quest to defeat the evil forces that plague Deltora. Will they be strong enough to conquer the next of the Four Sisters?
    Read an excerpt.

  • Dragons of Deltora #4:
    The Sister of the South

    Lief, Barda, and Jasmine have defeated three of the Four Sisters left by the evil Shadow Lord to conquer Deltora. But now they face the Sister of the South – their biggest and most dangerous challenge yet.
    Read an excerpt.

Deltora Shadowlands

Fight the Darkness
Evil still reigns in the Shadowlands of Deltora. Lief, Barda, and Jasmine join forces again to find a weapon powerful enough to defeat the shadow lord in his own realm.

  • Shadowlands Book I:
    The Cavern of the Fear

    Can Leif, Barda, and Jasmine find the one thing that the Shadow Lord fears?
    Read an excerpt.

  • Shadowlands Book II:
    The Isle of Illusion

    On their quest to complete the Pipe, the three arrive at the mysterious Isle of Auron, only to find terrible dangers awaiting them.
    Read an excerpt.

  • Shadowlands Book III:
    The Shadowlands

    It's the final battle between good and evil. Lief, Barda, and Jasmine have made it this far. Can their luck hold out?
    Read an excerpt.

  • The Book of Monsters

    You've read about the Monsters of Deltora, now see them in full color, and learn their histories.
    Read an excerpt