Scholastic Canada: Rights
Skip to main content
A Year in the Life of a Total and Complete Genius

A Year in the Life of a Total and Complete Genius

by Stacey Matson

ISBN 9781443133173 Hardcover
ISBN 9781443128681 Ebook
272 Pages | 5.49" x 8.7" | Ages 9 to 12
See an excerpt

Gordon Korman meets Word Nerd in this totally (and completely) genius debut!

Arthur Bean, soon-to-be a rich and famous author, has set two goals for himself: to win the school writing contest and to win the heart of his secret crush, Kennedy. But his life has had some major twists and turns lately, and the recent loss of his mother definitely complicates things.

Arthur is in turns outrageous, defiant, and unintentionally hilarious as we peek over his shoulder at his reading journals, notes from his long-suffering teachers, his offbeat articles for the school newspaper — even the emails he sends to writing partner Kennedy. A Year in the Life of a Total and Complete Genius is a fresh and funny story about a boy whose bad luck can't dampen his spirit — or his love of writing.

Praise for A Year in the Life of a Total and Complete Genius:

"At once funny, outrageous, thoughtful, and informative, this is a story with something for everyone, and Arthur's is a voice readers won't soon forget." -CM: Canadian Review of Materials

Awards

  • Short-listed, Manitoba Young Readers' Choice Award, 2016
  • Short-listed, Rocky Mountain Book Award (Alberta Children's Choice), 2016
  • Winner, Chocolate Lily Book Award (BC Children's Choice), 2015
  • Short-listed, Snow Willow Award (Saskatchewan Young Readers' Choice), 2015
  • Commended, Best Books for Kids and Teens, Canadian Children's Book Centre, 2015

Rights Sold

  • English (Asia) - Scholastic Asia
  • English (Australia) - Scholastic Australia
  • English (UK) - Andersen Press
  • English (US) - Sourcebooks
  • French (N. Amer.) - Éditions Scholastic
  • French World (ex. N. Amer) - Actes Sud
  • Portuguese - Geracao
  • Turkish - Epsilon

Selling Points

  • The first of a planned trilogy
  • A fresh and distinctive new voice
  • Appeal for fans of Jeff Kinney, Gordon Korman and Susin Nielsen
  • Offbeat approach using journals, emails, doodles to convey Arthur’s trials and tribulations

Also by
Stacey Matson

  • Finding Cooper
  • Notes from the Life of a Total Genius
  • Scenes from the Epic Life of a Total Genius

Explore similar books

Fiction   Humour   

Contact Information

Maral Maclagan, Rights and Contracts Manager
mmaclagan@scholastic.ca | 416-915-3524
604 King Street West, Toronto, ON, M5V 1E1

Image credits